The European Library Adds 9 Libraries to EDL Project

Sep 19, 2006

The European Library has taken steps to ensure that all EU national libraries become full participants by the end of 2007. Through the European Digital Library project (EDL project) a further 9 national libraries been brought into the network. Countries involved are either members of the European Union or the European Free Trade Association: Belgium, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Spain, and Sweden. The action will enrich The European Library with up to 100 new collections. Besides assisting participants to become full partners of The European Library, the project focuses on multi-linguality and sets the first steps towards the establishment of a European Metadata Registry. Furthermore it investigates (potential) digitization efforts. The EDL project is financially supported by the European Commission under the eContentplus Programme.