ALPSP Learned Journals Collection Launches

Sep 09, 2003

The ALPSP Learned Journals Collection (ALJC) has launched with a collection of 247 journals from 25 publishers. The ALJC is designed to enable small and medium-sized publishers to package their journals with a single umbrella license, pricing model, and delivery platform. The online collection is the result of collaboration between the Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers (ALPSP), Swets Blackwell, and Extenza. Swets Blackwell has orchestrated ALJC's licensing and legal

structure and also serves as its sales, marketing, and access channel.

The ALJC allows customers to access ejournals directly via SwetsWise online content. The 247 ALJC titles are available both in the full collection and in three discipline-specific packages in the areas of medicine & life science (85 titles), science & technology (57 titles), and the arts, humanities & social sciences (129 titles). Pricing is based on a percentage of the ALJC's current collective print value and is guaranteed for 3 years.  Both print-plus-electronic and electronic-only options are available and customers may migrate from one to the other during the 3-year license agreement period. Special consortial arrangements are available. Pricing and license information is available on the ALJC Web site.

The ALJC is accessible via SwetsWise and currently contains 247 titles from the following 25 publishers: ALPSP, American Institute of Biological Sciences, Australian Academic Press, Beech Tree Publishing, British Psychological Society, Carden Jennings Publishing Co. Ltd., Chartered Institute of Building, Hindawi Publishing, Imaginative Minds, Institute of Psychoanalysis, Institution of Chemical Engineers, IOS Press, Kingston Press, Makerere, Multilingual Matters / Channel View Publications, OECD, Questions Publishing, The Royal Society, Royal Society of Medicine Press, Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, School of Social Work, Society for Personality Research, Swets & Zeitlinger Publishers, Vathek, and Walter de Gruyter.

(, (, (